If It Don’t Fit – DON’T BUY IT!

1 Jul

A couple weeks ago, I was in desperate need of some new running shoes since some jerk broke into my car last winter and stole mine (WTF? Enjoy!) and I’ve been using 3-year old shoes since then.

So, I hit up Nike Outlet (oh how I love you, Nike Outlet).  I found these fab shoes:

P5240704

Pink?  Check.  Cute?  Check.  Cheap?  Check. ($39.99!) My size?  Ch….eh, wait.

I squeezed my foot into a 6 1/2 even though I’m clearly a 7.  I rationalized to myself that maybe I could just “work them in”.  I had Lloyd push on the end to see where my toe was even though I had them all scrunched up to make room.

So yeah, I bought ’em.

Now my knee is jacked up and I haven’t been able to work out all week.  My poor little foot muscles are tight after being shoved into too small shoes.  And I swear I’ve gain 5 pounds this week.  Damn shoes!

I even had to make an appointment with the doctor because I’m so worried about my knee.

ALL because I HAD to buy cute shoes that were cheap!  Urgh!

This weekend, I’m going to have to go out and buy ANOTHER pair of shoes.

Morale of the story: If you buy cheap shoes that don’t fit, you’ll end up paying double because you’ll just have to buy another pair (and make a doctor’s appointment!).

Shouldn’t I know this by now?

6 Responses to “If It Don’t Fit – DON’T BUY IT!”

  1. Crystal July 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    I have the same exact problem! If the price is right and they are too adorable to pass up, I’ll settle on cramming my size 8 foot into it like one of the step-sisters with the glass slipper in Cinderella. I have more than one pair of heels that are a teensy bit too small on me, but I wear them anyway. Granted, my feet feel like bloody stumps by the end of the day, but I’ve never been one to pass up fashion for comfort. We’re such girls. 😛

  2. eemusings July 3, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Oh no, oh no!!! Definitely do not buy too small shoes. Or too big shoes for that matter! I’ve done both. I practically never wore either pair – either pinched my toes too much, or my heels flopped out with every step. Just not worth it!

  3. Amanda September 21, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    Try Road Runner Sports(online), they have a 60 day guarantee. You can usually get a pretty good pair of shoes that will fit your foot(they show you how to match your foot with different types of shoes) for around 60 bucks with shipping. Plus, if you run/workout in them and don’t like them you can exchange them, no questions asked within 60 days. The best pair of running shoes I’ve ever bought are from there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Cost Of A Broken Knee « Carrie…On The Cheap - July 4, 2009

    […] 4, 2009 by Carrie As I mentioned in my last post, my knee has been bothering me for a couple weeks.  It has been getting worse and worse everyday […]

  2. Staying Fit: 5 Things To Splurge On « Carrie…On The Cheap - July 6, 2009

    […] 6, 2009 by Carrie After the great knee fail of 2009, I’ve learned a few things about what NOT to skimp on when it comes to working […]

  3. Let Your Budget Take A Personal Day « Carrie…On The Cheap - August 12, 2009

    […] me, a little wiggle room will make your budget more successful.  Some of my recent splurges?  New sparkly tennis shoes and a nice dinner out with Lloyd.  These little breaks from my saving were just what I needed to […]

Leave a comment