Carrie, CPA

24 Jun

I’m a CPA!

Woooohoooooooooo!

After all the hard work, long days, and sleepless nights, I FINALLY got a passing score for the last test this week!  (See more of my CPA journey here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.  The last one is my favorite.)

This is how it went down:

  • BEC Test: May 2009 – 80 (Pass)
  • AUD Test: August 2009 – 81 (Pass)
  • REG Test: March 2010 – 90 (Pass)
  • FAR Test: May 2010 – 80 (PASS and DONE!)

I honestly have no idea how I got that score on the FAR test.  All that praying really must have worked.  Yes, I worked my tail off, but that test was killer.  Oh well, who cares!  All that matters is that I passed!

FAQs:

So…are you done?  For the most part, yes.  I am done with the actual CPA Exam.  However, I still have to take an ethics exam (08/04/2010 update: Ethics exam, passed!) have a CPA vouch for my work experience, get my initial license form notarized, and send it off to the state board.  But, really, the hard part is O-V-E-R!

Was it worth it? Yes.

What now?  Losing the 8-10 pounds I put on during the CPA exam (actually only about 6 left to go until I’m back at my steady weight).  Enjoying my evenings and weekends.  Doing things I love that I had to put off during the year of the CPA.

Are you going to get a raise?  Not right away.  In my line of work, CPAs are few and far between so it should be …. helpful.

Can you call yourself a CPA?  Not technically.  To my friends and my blog readers, I can.  But I can’t use it professionally until all my admin stuff is completed.  This will take months.  I’ll probably be a full-fledged CPA with bells on sometime in October.

What did you learn?  Work your a$$ off.  When you think you’ve reached your limit, do more.

What’s your new project?  Setting up my new blog, wedding planning, leading a healthy/fit life, and enjoying my favorite peeps.

23 Responses to “Carrie, CPA”

  1. Rina June 24, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS (again)!!!! 🙂 So happy for you.

  2. caroline June 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! I am an aspiring-CPA and will be reading all your posts related to CPA & maybe later I’ll have some questions for you. But once again GOOOOODDD JOOOB!!

  3. quarterlifegirl June 24, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    Congrats!!! After all that suffering it’s great to hear that it paid off! Now you can really enjoy your “time off” from all that studying!

  4. FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com June 25, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    Congratulations 🙂

  5. tom June 25, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    congrats Carrie! You’ve definitely earned all the beers you can drink during your free evenings and weekends!

  6. David June 25, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Congrats!!! Just in time to enjoy summer, right!?

  7. me in millions June 25, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    YAYAYAYAYAY! We are all so proud of you!!!!! Congrats!

  8. Clareyt June 25, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Congrats, Carrie! Hard work pays off, well done.

  9. Tanu June 25, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Congratulations!!! You are 95% done.

    I got my last exam’s (REG) score and unfortunately, I will be hitting the books again. Oh..how much I hate tax.

  10. Savings June 25, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Congrats! That so exciting 🙂

  11. wyojeff June 25, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Congrats on passing the CPA Exam. I’ve got a few friends that did it, I know how hard you probably worked.
    Good luck setting up the new blog. If you decide to do it your self, let me know and I’ll try to help you avoid some of the hole i’ve fallen in (I did mine last week, but am still in the layout/design process)

  12. dmacdistance June 25, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Don’t you have to get public accounting experience before you can technically be a CPA? What good does passing the test do you if you don’t have or aren’t planning on getting that experience. Maybe you have this experience from your past and I missed it.

    • Carrie June 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      I have the experience. It does not have to public.

  13. Crystal June 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Yay — congratulations!! *gives you a virtual toast* 🙂

  14. Emily June 26, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    Congratulations!

  15. Sofia June 26, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    That is soo exciting! Congratulations!!

  16. Bexi June 27, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Congratulations! That’s wonderful!

  17. Calista June 28, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    Wahoo! Congrats! This gives me hope, as I sit for my first portion in July (REG).

  18. Annika June 28, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Congratulations, its such a great feeling to be done with the CPA! I agree that the extra paperwork is pretty annoying though – I didn’t have to take an ethics test, but every state has some kind of extra thing that they require that costs a lot and just creates more paperwork and hassle. Good luck with all the wedding planning and fun post-CPA exam activities!

  19. legallymarried June 28, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Congreatulations! What a big relief – now go and have some summer fun! 🙂

  20. Jane June 28, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Congratulations!
    I am barely starting my CPA journey (i.e. taking the classes to even be able to sit for the CPA) so hearing about your amazing successes is so inspirational!
    You should be SO proud of yourself for getting such high scores too!

  21. Bonnie June 30, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Awesome news! congrats!

    • Courtney June 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Yay! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

