Snap Out Of It, Woman!

13 May

Here’s the dealio:  my next (and last, whoop whoop) CPA exam is in just under 2 weeks.

I’m totally not ready for it and that makes me LOL.

You see, I’ve been studying for the exams since March 16, 2009.   Yeah, I remember the day.  Wouldn’t you remember the day you got locked up without committing a crime?

After almost 15 months of studying, my eyes have started to glaze over with every multiple choice question I skim through and I insanely giggle at every mnemonic that Peter Olinto lovingly tells me to remember.  (Peter is my hot, Italian instructor that I spend most mornings with.  He may be coming at me from a pre-taped compact disc, but he delivers a Generally Accepted Accounting Principal like nobody’s business.)

So, yep.  I’m totally half-assing my studying right now.  Wait, scratch that.  I’m giving it everything I’ve got, but after over a year of this bullshiz accounting mumbo jumbo, I ain’t got much left.

But I’m not complaining.  I got myself into this mess.  Sometimes when I’m feeling really low about the whole situation, I’ll try to blame it all on Lloyd.  I’ll say he forced me into it against my will.  Then, he’ll grab me by my shoulders, give me a couple good shakes, and tell me to “snap out of it, woman, you’re almost done”.  (He really doesn’t do that, it just sounded good.  In truth, he tells me every day how proud of me he is and how I’m thisclose to being done and getting my life back.  He’s awesome.)

But seriously, I’m not complaining.  This is my deal.  I’ve gotta get this done.  I’ve gotta sprint to the finish line.  I’ve gotta grab this damned CPA exam by the horns and ride it into the sunset.  I’ve gotta analyze each word and each number in each ridiculous multiple choice question and answer A, B, C, or D with reckless abandon.  I’ve gotta show this beyotch who’s boss!!  And that’s me!

So, that’s what I’ll do. Take this CPA exam and own it.  Just like I did with its brothers and sisters.

See you guys on the flip side (in about 2 weeks).

-Carrie

13 Responses to “Snap Out Of It, Woman!”

  1. Pike May 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Wow! Just stumbled over your blog. Love it! Congratulations on HUGE accomplishments. Good luck with FAR. I always admire people who plough through the CPA exams. Amazing.

    • Carrie May 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Hey! Welcome, thanks, and thanks! I’ll need the good luck….and I’ll be heading over to your blog soon to check it out! 😉

  2. me in millions May 13, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Good luck! We’ll miss you for the next 2 weeks!

  3. Tanu May 14, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I know exactly how you feel. I am studying for the last one (May 30th is the big day). I am just ready to finish this and get my life back. I also feel that I am not ready for it but this has to be done. Good luck on your last one!

  4. quarterlifegirl May 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    “Wouldn’t you remember the day you got locked up without committing a crime?” lol….oh, how I love funny bloggers!

    You’re ALMOST there, so don’t slow down now! Just think about how awesome it’ll be when you’re done….you won’t know what to do with all your free time?!! Good luck, and we’ll see you in two weeks!

  5. Annika May 14, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Good luck! I finished my CPA exams this past January, but it was such a miserable experience to study for! Its like once you’ve spent a long exhausting day at work, the last thing you want to do is study Becker.
    Once you’re done, you’re done, and I am sure you will do just fine, given the amount of studying and prep time you’ve put into this.
    PS – I can’t agree with you on the Peter Olinto hot thing…

    • Carrie May 14, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      Ha ha, really? I thought he was super hot from the first lecture! I guess he’s just my type. LOL Oh, and thanks!

  6. Revanche May 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Know what’s funny? I would probably respond just as well to the shaking/scolding as I would encouragement. 🙂

    Can’t wait ’til you’re done!

  7. Calista May 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    Good luck! I’m taking REG (my first part) in July, and I’m already feeling the imprisonment.

    Oh, and Peter Olinto is totally hot!

  8. Prapti May 21, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Good Luck with the last section!
    Have no doubts..he is HOT!!!! I’m done with my exams but still watch his You tube videos sometimes..LOL!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrie, CPA « Carrie…On The Cheap - June 24, 2010

    […] for the last test this week!  (See more of my CPA journey here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.  The last one is my […]

  2. Blonde & Balanced — Relaxed, Rejuvenated, Recharged - August 16, 2010

    […] case you hadn’t noticed by my numerous complaints and rants on the blog, the CPA took a lot out of me.  More than I ever expected.  In college – to put it […]

  3. Blonde & Balanced — Carrie, CPA - August 18, 2010

    […] for the last test this week!  (See more of my CPA journey here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.  The last one is my […]

Leave a Reply

