10 Things They Don’t Tell You When You Sign Up For The CPA Exam

26 Feb

cpaexamfailure

  1. CPA Butt: You will gain weight and/or get out of shape.
  2. Start Counting Sheep: You will develop insomnia. Invest in melatonin.
  3. The Faster, The Better: You never loved quick fix meals so much.  Do you know how fast those Chipotle workers can make a Burrito Bowl?!  Crazy fast.
  4. Is There A Tax Deduction For This?: …because it costs over $1,000 and the best study materials are $4,000 brand-new.  In short, you’re paying a crap-ton of money for months of torture and pain.
  5. You’ll Become A 26-Year Old Grandma: Kiss your friends & family and your social life GOOD-BYE.  Staying in on a Friday night to study like-kind exchanges?  Yes, please!
  6. Wanna Be My Study Buddy?: Your boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse/BFF/dog/hamster/laptop will become your new best study buddy (most likely against their will).  Rally the troops people, you’re gonna need to someone to 1) read you questions non-stop, 2) calm you down when you have a panic attack, and 3) force feed you alcohol when you experience #2.
  7. College Is For Wienies: You thought you read a lot in college? You didn’t.
  8. No Place Is Safe: Any place is at risk for breaking out the latest edition of Becker or Wiley.  This includes but is not limited to: the pool, stores, cars, restaurants, friend’s houses, coffee shops, in bed, waiting in line at McDonald’s, and last but not least, on the elliptical machine.
  9. Libraries Are The New Day Care: You will quickly discover that libraries are NOT the quietest place in town.  In fact, libraries are noisier than the local college bar on a Wednesday night.  Why?  Because kids are loud and many of them have not discovered their “quiet voice” yet.
  10. Nightmare On Tax Street:  If you do finally coax your overflowing brain into dreamland, it’s not going to be pleasant.  Numbers and problems and mnemonics, OH MY!

Image Source: Another71.com

19 Responses to “10 Things They Don’t Tell You When You Sign Up For The CPA Exam”

  1. Sue @ Simon's Sista February 26, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    I feel for you. I really really do. I’m lucky enough to have finished my Australian exams a few years ago. Whilst my friends and family were supportive, they just didn’t get it, try as they might. Even when I’d set time aside to do other things, I’d still be thinking about the study. Since finishing (end of 2006 – I went skydiving the day after final results), I’ve appreciated my free time so so much more. Wishing you luck for your last two exams – and I hope you mark the end of the journey, when it comes, appropriately!

    • Carrie March 3, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      Wow! Skydiving! Thanks for the good luck!

  2. Annika February 26, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Yes, I absolutely agree! I just finished my last exam in January and it took me a little over a year – its so brutal, especially when you’re working crazy hours in public accounting.

    Best of luck finishing your exams!

  3. Random Thoughts of a Jersey Mom February 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    You are funny! Good luck!!

  4. Money Maus February 26, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    This is EXACTLY how I felt while studying for the CFA exam for 6 months of last year… *sigh*

    Good luck! You’re almost there! 🙂

    • Carrie February 27, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      I know, sad isn’t it? The things we do for certification tests… March 16th is my 1 year anniversary of studying. I can’t wait to have a life back! LOL

  5. Investing Newbie March 1, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Haha! Oh Carrie, you are hilarious.

  6. Jessica March 2, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Hi Carrie. I came by Punch Debt in the Face. You were curious about faith? I believe that PDINF is a Christian and I am too. I would be happy to answer questions you have! Feel free to stop by my blog!

    Blessings,
    Jessica

  7. CPAnet - CPA Zone March 2, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Happily including this super funny post at the CPA Zone blog…Tweeting it out too.

    Good luck to you this week Carrie!

    • Carrie March 3, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks for including my post on the blog! 🙂

  8. Tanu March 2, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    You captured my life in these 10 points…kind of sad..I am studying for the last one. Trust me when I get out of that last exam, I am marching straight to the gym.

  9. Tanu March 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    BTW…best of luck on your next exam. REG is my last. Any pointers?

    • Carrie March 3, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      Hmmm…. I’ll let you know if I pass? I guess my pointers would be, don’t underestimate REG. AUD/BEC were a breeze compared to it. Don’t blow off the law and ethics portion. Tax is coming really easy to me and I THOUGHT Law was easy, but those questions are super tricky! Supplement Becker with Wiley if you’re using Becker, too.

  10. Tanu March 7, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Thanks. I am actually using Gleim and Becker. I passed BEC and FAR and now waiting on results for AUD.

    I will keep these things in mind. I dislike Tax very much.

  11. jeff@another71.com March 12, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    My son is famous 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrie, CPA « Carrie…On The Cheap - June 24, 2010

    […] a passing score for the last test this week!  (See more of my CPA journey here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.  The last one is my […]

  2. Relaxed, Rejuvenated, Recharged « Carrie…On The Cheap - July 28, 2010

    […] case you hadn’t noticed by my numerous complaints and rants on the blog, the CPA took a lot out of me.  More than I ever expected.  In […]

  3. Blonde & Balanced — Relaxed, Rejuvenated, Recharged - August 17, 2010

    […] case you hadn’t noticed by my numerous complaints and rants on the blog, the CPA took a lot out of me.  More than I ever expected.  In […]

  4. Blonde & Balanced — Carrie, CPA - August 18, 2010

    […] a passing score for the last test this week!  (See more of my CPA journey here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.  The last one is my […]

Leave a Reply

