RIP Little Guy

6 Apr

I saw a dog get hit by a car on the highway on Easter night.

I was driving home from Easter dinner at a relative’s house.  Lloyd was in a different car and had stopped to get gas, so he wasn’t anywhere around me.

It was about 7:30 p.m. and it was still completely light outside (I guess Daylight Savings Time isn’t so bad after all…).

As I was driving down the highway, I saw a bevy of break lights in front of me.  I may have dropped a few four-letter words directed towards the cars in front of me for their pointless breaking.  What can I say, I’m jaded by the bad drivers who trot along at 60 MPH in the fast lane.

But, before I knew it, I came up on the little animal that was causing all the break lights.  The poor doggie look confused and was running back and forth trying to get out of the way.  All I could think to do was lay on my horn in hopes that it would run the dog towards the edge of the highway.

Luckily, I didn’t hit the dog, but I couldn’t pull my eyes away from the little guy in my rear-view mirror.

For those of you that don’t know me, I am probably one of the most hopeful people ever.  I tell Lloyd that Kansas will win the National Title every year (I think we have a good shot next year).  I go to bed every night thinking the weathermen will be wrong and that it will be a fabulous 70 degrees and sunny the next day.  I never think anything bad will happen – I always think the best outcome will happen.  Naive? Maybe.  But I like to think of it as my wine glass being half full.

So when a car behind me hit the dog, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I shouted and immediately pulled over.  Never mind the fact that I was hauling down the highway at 70 MPH.  All I could think about was saving the dog.

The people that hit the dog had pulled over, too.  The guy that got out was sporting suspenders and the height of what I estimated to be an 80 year old man.  He was no help and mostly just rude to me.  He told me the dog made the wrong decision.  Obviously, debating over the decision-making skills of the dog wasn’t high on my priority list.

I wanted to search in the brush along the highway for the dog.  But, I was alone and in shorts and a tank top and didn’t want some weirdo to pull over and offer to “help” me.

I wanted to find the dog, see if it was injured and take it to the vet.  I didn’t want the dog to suffer.  Or if the dog was already dead, I wanted to check for a collar so I could call the owners because they’re no doubt devastated that their dog had run away on Easter day.

After I conversed with the old dude (who really didn’t seem like he should be on the road in the first place), I sort of realized my surroundings.  I was barely off the edge of the highway and there were cars zooming past me at 80 MPH.  My hair and clothes were flying around me in the wake of the cars.  I walked back to my car, called Lloyd, and starting bawling.  I was hoping he could come and stop with me and we could look for the dog.  He told me it wasn’t safe to be on the edge of the highway and that I should start driving away.

It sucked.

I keep playing the situation over in my head.  What if I could have pulled over immediately and called the dog to the side of the highway?  Doesn’t that seem ridiculous?  It does, but I wish I could have done something.  It poured rain the next day and all I could think about was the dog laying there next to the highway.   I was so delirious that I don’t even really remember where the dog was hit on the highway.  I just keep wishing that Lloyd and I would have been together so that we could have stopped together and found the dog.

I feel so guilty.  I know it’s not my fault, but dogs hold a special place in my heart.  Dogs are the sweetest creatures.  They love you even when you’re mad or sad.  They give you kisses even if you have morning breath. 😉

I would have spent money to help the dog live or at least have a painless death.  That’s the kind of thing that you can’t budget for, but I wouldn’t even have had a second thought when I handed over my credit card for that innocent little guy.

Anyways, I just hope that he had a painless death or is some sort of super dog and managed to walk away unscathed.  If not, RIP little guy.

11 Responses to “RIP Little Guy”

  1. Strawberry April 6, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    omg that is SO sad!! there is literally nothing worse than finding/seeing an animal in pain 😦

  2. RainyDaySaver April 6, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    I’ve been in your shoes — it’s heartbreaking. So sorry you had to witness that 😦

  3. Jan April 6, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Ohh! This breaks my heart! Poor doggie! RIP

  4. TeacHer April 6, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I saw something similar a few months ago and it seriously traumatized me. I feel your pain!

  5. Money Maus April 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    So sad!

    I’ve seen this happen before… twice! But, I was always WAY too far away to do anything. But one time there was a dog walking down the side roads of the freeway, I called 911 & apparently it had been reported by 10 other people already. I think it got saved! 🙂

    RIP to yours though 😦

  6. Investing Newbie April 7, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Oh no! Sad news. I hope the Dog is eating delicious Kibbles and Bits in Doggie Heaven.

  7. Crystal April 7, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    You poor thing! 😦 I got teary-eyed reading this, I’m a huge dog lover also. At least you pulled over and tried to help. The others didn’t. Hang in there, girlfriend. 😦

  8. Bruce April 9, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Few weeks back we took the beloved houndy to the vet for a routine trip. While waiting, two women carried in a dog and were crying. Half an hour later they left, crying more, without the dog.

    Dogs are good people…

  9. CPAnet April 10, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    I have done the same thing to only realize how dangerous it was…but in that split second, all we can think about is helping an innocent little dog. You have a good heart. I’m hoping for the superdog scenario.

  10. Aspiring Minimalist April 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    That is very sad. I hope the little guy didn’t have to suffer very much. But it is very dangerous to stop on a highway, so please keep that in mind, as well.

  11. Revanche April 12, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Oh that poor pup … it always upsets me when people blame the dog — hello? It’s scared, confused, terrified, and on FOOT while you’re zooming around in your car. It’s not his decision-making skills that are a problem, it’s that he’s entirely in the wrong place and doesn’t have a really great set of options to choose from!

    I hope he’s ok … or managed to get off the highway at least.

Leave a Reply

