Jamiroquai May Have Been On To Something

12 Apr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the deal.  Smart phones – they freak me out.  I don’t get them and I never want one.  However, I seem to be the only person on the planet not raving about these so-called “phones”.

Everyone’s got their iPhones and their Crackberrys with their BBMs and those nosy calorie-counting apps.  Guess what I’ve got – an actual telephone (you’re welcome Mr. Alexander Graham Bell).

Want to send me a picture text?  Won’t happen.  My phone actually rejects picture texts.  I didn’t even set that feature up; my phone – knowing my easy-to-please preferences – actually took it upon itself to start rejecting picture texts.  That’s fine by me because my phone company likes to charge me for every cute picture that my friends send to me.

Internet?  Don’t have it.  Touch Screen?  Not on this phone.  Fancy Apps?  Nope.

However, my phone does boast some very practical and necessary features:

  • phone calls (received, dialed, and missed)
  • text messages (limit of 300)
  • SPEAKER phone (could not live without)
  • calculator
  • scheduler
  • voicemail (a little tedious, but helpful nonetheless)
  • phonebook

Look, I’m not disagreeing with those of you who have these fancy-schmancy phones.  In fact, I think my kind is a dying breed and I’ll probably have to succumb to the age of the Smart Phones eventually (which by the way, does that name freak anyone else out a bit?  I mean….they are just phones…or are they?).

89370_512x288_generated__e Ziv6v4pkmc5K6f9gywoQ

Back in the good 'ol days.

 I just prefer my tried and true, old-fashioned telephone.  I spend 8 hours chained to a computer all day.  On top of that, I come home after work and spend another several hours on the computer studying.  Sometimes I feel like I live and breathe a virtual (insanity?) life – having a phone that is merely that allows me to break free from the electronic world and actually enjoy life.

How much does a Smart Phone run these days anyway?  I’m sure they can be found for a discounted price, but my beat-up Rumor phone that you see up there has served me well for almost 2 years and only cost a whopping $18 (damn you Sprint and your crafty “activation fees”).

In addition to the outlandish prices, I’m assuming most Smart Phones must be set up with a data and internet plan.  Otherwise, what’s the point of even having one?  Not the Rumor though.  I survive on 200 anytime minutes and 300 text messages per month.  No extras for me please, just the old stand-by calling and messaging plan.

I totally get the appeal of having the internet on your phone.  I could see how it would be fun to update my twitter from, say, my car on the drive to work, or at the gym, or out to dinner, or at the grocery store….wait, that doesn’t sound too much more exciting than my current tweets

While many people (my best friends and Lloyd included) now prefer to carry around a virtual world in their purse or pocket, I prefer to leave mine at home on my desk where it should be.

I don’t need an iPhone; I’ve got myPhone.

So, tell me: do you swear by the Smart Phones?  What kind of phone do you use?  If you prefer the fancy phones, tell me why!  Are there any of you who are like me and prefer the old-school, one function phones?

(source)

28 Responses to “Jamiroquai May Have Been On To Something”

  1. Eden April 12, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I had to giggle at this post. I just bought a smart phone costing £200. I swear, once you go smart, it’s tough to go back. Those people found a market and cornered poor innocent sods like myself.

    I bought a smart phone when I lost a normal midrange phone and thought “fuck it, I’m gonna treat myself”. Despite losing several smart phones since (I’ve a bad track record of losing phones or giving thieves opportunity to steal mine) I can’t settle for a normal one.

    I crave the days of using a good old fashioned phone and just being satisfied with what I had. But to be honest, they bore the living daylights out of me now. On my new phone I make notes on the MSWord feature; I can sort between office and personal mail; I get weather updates; hell, I’ll even take mine to the bog and play those games powered by the accelerator. Too much procrastination potential too.

    Well, it’s bread and water for me this week. Woe is me for having a smart phone addiction.

  2. WellHeeledBlog April 12, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Eventually I’m going to succumb to a smart phone. But for now I’m pretty happy with my current phone, especially because I’m on a family plan so my phone is essentially free for me.

  3. eemusings April 12, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I have a basic phone – it does have net access but I don’t really know how to use it nor do I want to pay for it! Cost me just over $100 new, and it costs me $20 a month.

  4. Crystal April 12, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Haha, loved this post, and couldn’t agree more. I hate smart phones. What is the point? Is it really necessary to update Twitter every three seconds…from your car, the mall, grocery shopping, etc.? I have a normal slider cell phone that I only recently figured out has a speakerphone function. (yay!) Other than that no Internet, music player, or anything fancy. It’s just a phone to make and receive simple phone calls. Just the way I like. 😉

  5. Sarah April 13, 2010 at 1:45 am #

    No cell phone at all over here!

  6. Emily April 13, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    I had a bare basics cell phone when I was living in NZ, and I just did pay as you go, and rarely bothered answering the thing, as it was easier to use my ‘real’ phone at work or at home. However, I then moved to London where having a smart phone is actually feasable and affordable, and very quickly made the change! At the time we were awaiting our broadband set up at home, and being able to just move around and use such a small device in cafes etc, was so liberating. I now use my iPhone at home rather than my laptop on a lot of occassions as it feels more simple to do so. And saves you from the big time suck that web browsing on a bigger screen sometimes induces! I never thought I’d love my iPhone as much as I do, that’s for sure. Saying that, I could easily live with out it. I just prefer it now 🙂

  7. Jenn @ Paying Myself April 13, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    I also got an iPhone when my started crashing and I wanted a treat. Now I couldn’t go back!

    You used to be able to send tweets from your phone as a text message for free. You should check that out!

    • Carrie April 13, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

      I will have to check into that!! That’s what I’m really afraid of – getting one and getting addicted to it. I’m sure once you go Smart, you can’t go back.

  8. Katie April 13, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    Couldn’t agree with you more. Not only is it cheaper, it forces me to disconnect from work, which I love. Also, I can totally see myself becoming addicted to an iphone, blackberry, etc. which I DON’T want to happen!

  9. tom April 13, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    I have a blackberry for work and yeah it gets a bit addicting.

    My personal cell phone is bare bones just like yours, but I’ll one up you, mine has an alarm clock! Crazy advanced, I know!

  10. Life as a Purse April 13, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    I’m totally addicted to my iPhone. I was an early adopter and bought my first one for over $400. The new ones now can cost as little as $99 new, but they do get you with data plans ($30/month, plus extra for texting). My cell phone bill is $95 per month just for me, which I know is ridiculous. Stay with the simple phone as long as you can – the SmartPhone creates a need that wasn’t there before, and it’s hard to go back!

  11. me in millions April 13, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Honestly, I love my iphone. It’s come in handy a million times. Lost? I have directions! Is there a good place to eat nearby? Let me check! Someone’s late to meet me? Let me check my email/play a game/catch up on my blogs! Forget someone’s address? Let me look that up! Craving some music? Let me download it/open itunes…

    Once you go smartphone, you can’t go back. For reals.

    • Carrie April 13, 2010 at 8:19 am #

      That’s kind of what I’m afraid of. I know that once I finally do get my paws on a shiny iPhone, I’ll become addicted and won’t be able to imagine life with a crappy, basic phone. LOL 🙂

  12. Bonnie April 13, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I have a Rumor 2 phone and I love it. I have no desire for a ‘smart’ phone either. The more basic for me, the better. Of course, I can take this to the nth degree too–until very recently, I had dial-up Internet at home! 🙂 I just signed up for a plan with my cell provider that for $70 a month, I get unlimited calls, texts, everything. And I just found out that the cell provider offers employees of my company a 20 percent monthly discount off the bill. Score!

  13. Investing Newbie April 13, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I’m with everyone here. It’s a one way street regarding iPhones, so if you don’t want to get caught up, stick with the Rumor. But honestly, they are just more aesthetically pleasing than the “other” phones. I think that’s what its going to come down to really. You don’t need the internet all day everyday, but it is nice to touch the screen of an iPhone or have the professional look with a Crackberry. I’ve had both, so yeah, I know a little something something.

    If you are planning to spend, just remember it isn’t just the cost of the phone. You’ll have the indefinite costs of a data plan to worry about as well and any additional extras such as extra texts, etc.

  14. MPP April 13, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Haha I’m with you girl. I looove my old-school phone! Sometimes I think about getting a fancier one, but I just cannot justify paying $30 for internet, when I pay that for my entire apartment to have wireless and am at a computer all day anyway.

  15. Ginger April 13, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    My new roommate just gave me a BlackBerry Pearl, which is the only reason I have a smart phone.

    I don’t want to pay through the nose for the data plan, etc. and wouldn’t know how to use that stuff anyway!

    So even though I have a Bberry, I only use it as a regular phone! Go figure!

  16. Leege April 13, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I just got a BB this weekend and have subsequently decided phone salesmen have more tricks up their sleeves than car salesmen.

    I wanted to get the enV3, very basic but it HAD to come with a $10/month data plan and the phone itself was $99 after rebate!

    Seeing the $29.99 for the CrackBerry, I thought it was a better deal……….this is until after I had paid – the sales guy said “and now you have $30/month unlimited internet”…..it was too late to go back, and I’m too cheap to pay the $35 ‘restocking’ fee.

    I’m hoping the CrackBerry doesn’t take over my life.

  17. Savings April 13, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I could not live without my iphone! SO handy… the GPS feature alone is worth the (exorbitant, but still) monthly cost. Being able to easily get on the internet and have access to email wherever you are is amazing (and has saved my butt more than once). Seriously, I love my phone. You CAN’T go back to a regular phone after!

  18. Lulu April 14, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    I have a Google G1 on a shared plan with my best friend and I must say it is addicting. We have unlimited text, calls, messaging as long time T Mobile customers and we got unlimited internet as well.

    I use my phone to take pics for my blog posts, moderate comments when I have some down time, read my feeds, email, chat, update my calorie count (hee hee) and do so many other ‘smart phone’ things and now cannot imagine my life without that phone. Yes the internet is a bit slower than my desktop computer but there have been times the internet is down and it comes in handy.

  19. SS4BC April 14, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    LOL You are NOT the only one. I refuse to get a smart phone.

    My phone does everything I need: it makes calls, it sends/receives texts, it has an alarm clock, a very basic calendar and a calculator.

    I DO NOT WANT A SMART PHONE. =)

  20. Money Maus April 14, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    I love my Blackberry!! But I’m so ready for an iPhone – but I can’t justify the cost. Plus, I’m on a family plan so I only pay for my discounted data plan, which is $24/month. Totally worth it to surf the web, use Twitter, check FB & e-mail! It’s addicting, and I could never go back – only onwards & upwards to an iPhone! (But only when it’s on Verizon!) 🙂

  21. TeacHer April 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    When I think about improving my life, I usually think about big things, like having more free time, getting married, etc. I almost never think about material things. But…and I’m not trying to be a drama queen…getting an iPhone has actually made my overall life better.

    It’s just so convenient! I love being able to access my email, my favorite websites, directions – everything! – at any time just really makes my life SO MUCH EASIER.

    Just food for thought.

  22. Mihai April 16, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Hey,

    I kinda hate my smartphone cause I search online too much for stupid stuff and it takes a long time to load so I’m probably killing my eyes.
    All the people saying “once you go smart you don’t go back.” It’s kinda bs. It’s just a toy with a few real benefits.

    However, they have a few following benefits:
    1. GPS – won’t get lost finding that restaurant or whatever when walking (although your friends probably will have smart phones so you dont need this)
    2. I have a free budget application, so whenever I write a check, I also put it in my blackberry, so I know how much I have in my account at any given time. And I also forecast my future budget (add future paychecks and subtract future expenses/big spending events like vacations)
    3. Something I’m sure u’re not into but is the main reason why I have the smart phone: trading stocks when not on a pc
    4. I can write notes easily on it (qwerty keyboard)
    5. Don’t need an mp3 device cause I just listen to internet radio stations with it

    Most of those benefits are very tiny for me, besides the stock market thing. It wouldn’t be worth the 30$ extra per mo if it weren’t for that.

  23. moneymerrygoround April 18, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    I must be a Luddite or something. I have a prepaid cell phone, no bells or whistles, which I only turn on for MY convenience and which I only got when I had a couple of minor emergencies and couldn’t find a working pay phone anywhere. This frustrates the people around me who are forced to call me at home or, heaven forbid, speak to me in person. I actually had a work friend tell me she would have invited me to one thing or another if only I had texting! You actually can send and recieve texts (no pics) on my phone but it doesn’t do any good if the phone isn’t on, obviously.

    Anyway, the only possible scenario I can imagine where I would value a smart phone is waiting around at the airport or something. Of course, thats why I usually have books and magazines.

  24. Mandi April 20, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I’m with you, Carrie. I don’t have one and I don’t want one. I always get whatever free phone Sprint offers me when my contract rolls over. They always try to sell me on something more but I stop them and say, “Hey, I just need it to make and receive calls. The free one can do that, right?” And they say, “Yes but the Blackberry SG25Z is plated in gold and has GPS and the ringtone quality is amazing and it can heat up a hot pocket for you and…” But no way. I value my free time more than that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carnival of Personal Finance #253 (Demotivational Version) | Punch Debt In The Face - April 19, 2010

    […] from Carrie…On The Cheap presents Jamiroquai May Have Been On To Something, and says, “My takes on the latest Smart Phone craze – I’m not down with it and […]

  2. Smart Phone: Where Have You Been All My Life?! | Blonde & Balanced - February 13, 2016

    […] this post about my hatred of Smart Phones?  Uhhh…oops.  I guess my opinion has since […]

Leave a Reply

