New Record: Haven’t Eaten Out For Five Whole Days

16 Sep

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it on here before, but eating out is absolutely one of my most favorite activities.  Call it a luxury, call it lazy, call it expensive…either way, it’s practically a hobby for me.

Eating out IS expensive, so I try to keep it inexpensive by doing the following:

  • Happy Hour – Many times I can get out of a restaurant with a tab under $10 – including meal and a drink – during the happy hour.
  • Splitting with Lloyd – How absurd are restaurant portions? We can order a $12 plate and be completely full afterwards and we’re each only $6 in the hole.
  • Restaurant.com – Lifesaver.  Not even kidding.  This website saves me a lot of money.
  • Signing Up Online – If you sign up to receive e-mails on the restaurant’s website, you’ll generally get a friendly helping of coupons.

So, to end my 5 day streak of not eating out, I’m going to celebrate with none other than a streak of eating out:

  • Thursday – happy hour with friends!
  • Friday – Lloyd and I like to go out to dinner just the two of us on Friday nights if we don’t already have plans.  The game plan for Friday is a coupon for an appetizer & splitting a plate.
  • Saturday – I offered to bring a pizza to a relative’s house for the evening.  Well, hello there $2.00 off Papa Murphy’s coupon.
  • Sunday –  Lloyd and I have already decided to order Chinese from our favorite Chinese restaurants and watch Mad Men to prepare for the work week.  I’m ashamed to admit that I don’t have a coupon.  BUT, in my defense, splitting Chinese is pretty cheap since they give you SO much food.  It will probably set me back $10 bucks.
  • Monday – (oh yes, I’m still going) I should get my score for my second CPA test on Monday (fingers crossed!) and I’m either going to celebrate or have an ugly cry in my beer. 😉

How do YOU save when eating out?

Cheers!

8 Responses to “New Record: Haven’t Eaten Out For Five Whole Days”

  1. me in millions September 16, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    My three money savings things are:
    (1) I always get water instead of soda.
    (2) I’m not a big drinker so that saves a TON of money.
    (3) I have a rule that I never eat out (or get take out) by myself. Eating out is something I do with at least one friend to be social.

    I’m trying to spend less on eating out this month… we’ll see how that goes. I usually spend around $100 and so far I’m at $25. Not bad for halfway through the month, right?

  2. jennie September 16, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    Found your blog after you commented on mine – looking forward to reading!

    Eating out is our big downfall, and it’s not just the food – we love to split a bottle of wine and that can get very expensive! Considering I’m just starting on this PF thing, I don’t have a lot of strategies yet, but I have two ideas – (1) find any”bring your own bottle” places in my city and (2) get an “Entertainment Book” – a book full of coupons, including a lot of restaurants, many of which are “2 for 1”.

  3. Frugal Dreamer September 17, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    Eating out used to KILL our budget every month. We used to eat out once or twice a week. Now we eat out MAYBE once or twice a month.

    It’s all about priorities for us. Wedding, debt… you name it!

    Now that I am at home 90% of the time, I have nothing else to do but cook 😛 but I actually enjoy it! The waistline and the budget are thanking me!

    • Carrie September 18, 2009 at 9:53 am #

      Ugh – so true. Cooking at home can save the waistline. I pretty much despise cooking. 🙂 Wanna come cook for me? 🙂 We can work out a good rate, I’m sure….although, Canada is a far drive from Kansas City. He he.

  4. SS4BC September 17, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    I save on eating out by refusing to eat anywhere that I can’t get a meal for under $6. If it is more than $6 then I better get two meals out of it with their big portions! I make exceptions for places that I can eat at for under $7 if they had a special diner program – like each dollar earns me a mile at American Airlines – or eat 10 meals there get one free.

    The hardest part for me is going to bars. My coworkers go out probably once a week to drink, and I used to do this all the time and somehow would wind up buying a pitcher of beer when I only had one glass (mainly because I would feel guilty since I make more than all my coworkers). So now I only go out on special occasions (every other month now, but somehow I still end up buying a pitcher…)

  5. Bonnie September 17, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    BF and I save money on eating out by only doing it once or twice a week. We don’t live together yet, so during the week we cook for ourselves at our respective places. Lately we have been eating amazing, authentic Mexican food on Fridays, which costs $15 for both of us. STEAL! Then on Saturdays, we’ll usually go out to eat somewhere else. There is a quasi-expensive Italian place we love (it’s usally about $50 for the two of us), but we try to go there only once a month or even every two months.

    Also–we just started watching the first season of Mad Men on DVD and we LOVE it! I am going to have to break out my vintage dresses and coats soon!

    • Carrie September 18, 2009 at 9:52 am #

      Don’t you love how Mexican food can be so cheap?? I love that.

      Yay for Mad Men! I love it, too. Although, Don ticks me off sometimes – Betty is SO much hotter than those tramps he is catting around with!!

  6. Christina September 30, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    Restaurant.com has a ton of deals, and I also look through the local Clipsaver for deals and discounts at my favourite local places and ethnic restaurants. It pays to have a more adventurous taste in food because most of the time, that food is less expensive and is much yummier than other chains. Also, I try going out for lunches where they have similar sized portions to their dinner menu at a smaller price so I don’t feel as guilty. My main goal for myself is eating out 1-2 times a week. I feel better if both of those are lunches, or splurging on just 1 nicer dinner with a friend or my boyfriend.

Leave a comment