Let’s Take A Closer Look At The Male HDTV Obsession

30 Sep

Ladies, we’ve all seen it.  You stop by Best Buy with your guy to pick up the latest version of Quicken and before you know it, you look over and find him in a trance.  His eyes are glazed over and he’s gazing at something across the store.  There’s a faint hint of a smile on his face and just the tiniest bit of drool making its way down his bottom lip.

“Lloyd!  Hello?  Anybody in there?” I say loudly.  Nothing.

He doesn’t hear me.  As if pulled by some magnetic force he seems to glide effortlessly to another section of the store.

That’s when I see it.

He’s fixated upon the bevy of LCDs and plasmas plastered up on the back wall.  They seem to be shouting colorful, crisp, sweet-nothings to Lloyd.  Do they speak in some sort of secret dialogue to males that females can’t understand?

Truth be told, he may be close to perfect, but Lloyd does really have an innate infatuation with HDTV flat screens – or any flat screen for that matter (we have two very large old-school tube TVs in our apartment).  Every time he lays his eyes on those flat screens, he becomes more delirious than every girl in the world was the day that the Sex & The City movie premiered.

I, on the other hand, watched TV on this 13-inch gem for a good 20 years and was more than confused when my parents bought me a new (tube) TV for Christmas a couple years ago:

P9300117

You served me well, RCA.

In my female mind, it displays any show you could ever dream of watching just as well as those fancy 40 inch LCD screens up on the wall at Best Buy.

If it were up to me, we’d watch TV on our perfectly functional tube TVs until they day they stopped powering on.  To me, they work just fine.  To a guy though, this tube TV we have in our apartment is pure blasphemy.

Further proof of the male HDTV obsession?  Just check out the comment that Lloyd left on my post back in June titled “Do you have HGTV Envy?“.

lloyd-comment

The good news is that Lloyd has an abnormal amount of self-control (he must if we don’t already have a 50-incher on our living room wall) and we’ve made a little bit of a compromise as far as his dream television goes.  We’ve decided that what’s much more important now is to save for a house in the future and once we’ve bought said house, we each get to splurge on a big item for all of our hard work and dedication to saving.

What will our splurges be you ask?  If you haven’t guessed his, it will be a HDTV flat screen (the exact size has yet to be determined).  For me, it will be the biggest, firmest, most extravagant KING BED I can find.

What would your splurges be?

9 Responses to “Let’s Take A Closer Look At The Male HDTV Obsession”

  1. me in millions September 30, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Haha! Sooo true. The purchase of every guy I know with their first out of college paycheck was one of those fancy HDTVs! Sometimes before they had any furniture…

    I like my non-HDTV. Even if it still has a VHS player attached. 🙂

  2. Jenn @ Paying Myself September 30, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    My splurge when we moved into our condo was new dishes and bedding – both unnecessary as what we had was fine – but both things I wanted new as OURS as opposed to what B brought with him (although his bedding was pretty great – I bought a duvet cover as opposed to a comforter because we really like the weight of the existing one). The dishes were essentially a housewarming gift from my parents (they gave us a gift card).

    B’s splurge was, of course, a 40″ flat screen. But it was on sale and we had a coupon. He was a kid in a candy store when I told him to pick whatever he wanted because I didn’t know the difference between them and the tube TV we already had at home. 🙂 I can’t lie though – I can tell the difference now!

    • Carrie October 1, 2009 at 9:27 am #

      LOL – I’m sure I’ll totally be able to tell the difference when we actually get one, too. And I’ll probably think “Wow, how did I ever watch TV on one of those tube TVs!”

  3. eemusings September 30, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    Boys and their TVs eh? And sound systems for their cars. T was so gutted when our car got broken into. Personally, I just think it’s another reason to stick to the bare basics. I see NO point in blinging out your car, it’s not like you spend much time in it and as long as you can play music somehow, do you really need the most pricey speakers and sub?

  4. quarterlifegirl October 1, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    While I definitely don’t have TV envy (I currently have a 19″ old school TV/VCR combo), I certainly understand that the image quality I get on TV is NOT equal to those fancy TV’s out there now. I get that. However, I don’t understand paying $1,000 (or even $500, really) for a TV at this point. I waste enough time watching TV with my crappy set, can you imagine how much I’d watch if I felt I needed to justify the expense?!! No thanks! lol

    I already have the perfect bed (it arrived yesterday!), so if I was to splurge….I’m not really sure what I’d do. Maybe I’d get fancy appliances?

  5. TeacHer October 1, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    My TV broke recently and I bought a new fancy one. It’s nice, but I really didn’t need it. But the thing is, buying an old fashioned tube TV just really isn’t possible anymore. When I looked, Best Buy only had two, and that was the widest selection I found. And repairing the TV would have been almost as expensive as buying a brand new one. Luckily, I was able to get 36 month interest-free financing so I didn’t have to shell out a ton of cash at once and also haven’t been forced into debt to buy a stupid TV. And the one major plus of the flat screens is that they save a TON of space in your living room.

  6. Red December 22, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    Oh, gosh! I don’t get it either! I kept a tube TV until my parents gave me a new LCD one for my birthday a year and a half ago.

    I can understand the draw of flat screens because they’re more visually appealing than huge tube TVs. But I cannot wrap my head around HD versus non-HD. D actually told me when he first moved in that my non-HDTV “hurt his eyes.” Give me a break! I can hardly tell a difference! Must be a guy thing.

  7. Sunbun May 10, 2018 at 7:57 pm #

    very good publish, i actually love this website, carry on it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Money down the drain « Musings of an Aberrant Aucklander - October 2, 2009

    […] down the drain 3 10 2009 Like Carrie’s partner Lloyd, my boyfriend has a love affair with shiny, expensive flat screen TVs. […]

Leave a comment