I’ve Been Published!

4 May

This is a tad belated, but The Kansas City Star, recently did a little feature on frugal folks and I was one of them!  The lovely Lisa Gutierrez interviewed me a while back and I had a really fun time talking to her about trying to be as frugal as possible!

Check out the story here (my section is on page 2).  Below is the little excerpt about me!

STORY OF A ‘CHEAP’ WOMAN

At http://www.carrieonthecheap.wordpress.com, a 25-year-old accountant who uses the pen name Carrie Bradshaw – the heroine of “Sex and the City” – blogs about living frugally in Kansas City.

This “frugalista” says:

-Sign up with clothing stores online. Some will e-mail you coupons.

-Use http://www.restaurant.com. You’ll find restaurants that offer gift certificates at discount. “It’s cut my dining-out expenses more than half,” she told us.

-Rent from the public library. “I just got ‘Entourage,’ the fourth season,” she says.

-Take a part-time job with a perk. She works part-time at a gym and gets a free employee membership. Think clothing stores and those employee discounts.

I was so excited when this came out that I nearly peed my pants!  Lloyd probably thought I was a crazy woman!  But still…my first newspaper interview – how exciting!  I am totally going to frame this and hang it up in the new place!

3 Responses to “I’ve Been Published!”

  1. Krystal May 6, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    YAY!! Congrats on the coverage! Did you buy copies of the newspaper? I bought like 5 copies of the first article written about me … but then thought … what am I going to do with this? Not like I can frame it and put it up, since I blog anonymously! haha.

    • Carrie May 7, 2009 at 8:48 am #

      Ha ha! I only bought one….but yeah, it’s kinda just been floating around my apartment with really no home. I think I might frame it and just put it where it can’t be seen. Maybe if someone asks I’ll just say that I really looooove that blog! LOL.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The New Gyms In My Life « Carrie…On The Cheap - June 24, 2009

    […] 24, 2009 by Carrie A couple months ago, The Kansas City Star outted me when they published an article that said I worked part time at a […]

Leave a comment