A New Blog?

14 Jun

As I mentioned several times before, I want to move this blog to a self-hosted site this year.  I’ve been blogging on wordpress for well over a year now and I don’t see myself quitting the blogosphere anytime soon.

However, I’ve been debating over names & blog focuses for months.

First… I like writing about personal finance, but I’d love to drop my anonymity at some point while continuing to write about finances.  Translation:  no more personal information about net worth, salary, spending, etc.

Second… I don’t want to back myself into a one topic corner on my blog.  So, in addition to finances, I’d like to just write about life and general self improvement, etc.  I love working to better myself.  I’ve always got some sort of goal that I’m working towards.  So, I’d like to write a blog both about finances and livin’ a better life in general.

Third… I was planning to branch out into two different blogs:  one about finances/personal improvement and one about healthy living/exercise.  But…is there any way I could combine the two?  A sort of health meets finances meets personal betterment blog?  I read a lot of health & fitness blogs (like this one, this one, and this one), and I’m not sure I’m cut out for all the work it entails.  And what in the world would I call such a blog?  I am AWFUL at naming blogs (see current blog name, heh).

Fourth…  This blog is NOT about buying things “on the cheap” anymore.  It started that way, but my blog is now mostly about the ins and outs of personal finance.  I don’t blog about how to make a roll of toilet paper last a day longer or how to use 5 coupons for one item (although, I would be pretty stoked if I actually could do either of those things).  Basically this means that I can’t and don’t want to use my current blog name.

So, these are my current conundrums.  I’m debating over all of the above almost daily.  I want to move forward with a new blogging path, but I’m just not sure which path I want to take just yet.

I’d love to hear all your advice, preferences, and ideas for names in the comments!

————

Sidebar: I got Consumeristed today!  And wow, did the readers let me have it.  Apparently, I am not allowed to accuse McDonald’s of making me sick on MY blog since I never got proof from my doctor that their breakfast is what caused my sickness…

I thought a lot about what everyone had to say in the comments on the Consumerist and on my blog (which by the way, started to get a little mean, so I turned off commenting).  At first, I was pissed at how rude people were acting.  However, maybe they were a bit right (just mean about it)? 

I was quick to blame McDonald’s when I got sick, but I really have no proof that their food is why I was sick.  I still feel very, very certain that their food caused me to get sick (NO one else I’ve come into contact with has gotten sick and Lloyd and I ate the same things over the weekend), I can’t blame McDonald’s because I have no proof.  So, just as every person is innocent until proven guilty, technically so is McDonald’s in the case of the vicious stomach sickness that I endured last week.

But fo real, peeps on the internet are VICIOUS.  Unnecessary.  Seriously.

17 Responses to “A New Blog?”

  1. SS4BC June 14, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Yes, the internet trolls are very viscous. If you do make a new blog will you tell us so we can update our blog rolls? =)

  2. Carrie June 14, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    i tried doing the multiple blog things for a while but ultimately decided that just one all inclusive blog about anything and everything i’m passionate about was the right route for me. google’s webmaster tools has a place that it shows the keywords you use the most – that helped me pick out the name for my current blog (more of that story is on my about page).

  3. Leege June 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Gotta love the internet trolls, reminded me of this college humor video:

    and as for the blog – i like the personal finance/fitness/healthy living! it would be my ideal blog, combining my 3 favorite things :o)

  4. Bexi June 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    “Why are people so unkind?”

    Ouch. Where are the Billy Goats Gruff to deal with all these trolls?

    Finances + Living a Better Life = a blog I’d like to read. Sometimes the strictly PF blogs can get a little dry (there’s only so much a girl can read about 401k, especially when they don’t apply to her!) so talking about health and fitness could be a welcome break – and I’m always up for learning new things!

    And I’m terrible at naming things too. Good luck!

  5. my jus June 15, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    I always encourage people to have their own professional blog. I think writing is a good way to express and voice our mind. Good luck with your project! 😀

  6. Red June 15, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    Ha! When one of my grocery posts was put on the Consumerist, I said a silent prayer that it would never happen again! I’m sure it’s not isolated to The Consumerist, but those readers are spiteful. And, yes, some of them are right, but why not leave constructive comments? Because people like to be buttholes. It makes them feel better about themselves for some weird reason.

    As far as the blog goes, I’d still read if you included fitness info. In fact, some of my fav posts of yours are ones about your fitness. But I don’t like the idea of cutting out spending, salary, etc. because you go non-anon. 😦

  7. paranoidasteroid June 15, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    The problem with PF blogging is that if you get to a comfortable place where everything is automated and you’re achieving your goals, it gets hard to find things to write about.

    I don’t think you need to start a whole new blog for your fitness stuff. I’d still read no matter what you post, and I think most readers would do the same.

  8. Walls for the Wind June 15, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I’d love to read a hybrid blog of all of those things in one place! I think it’d make for a wonderful, content-heavy read.

  9. Emily June 15, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I’d like to see you keep both things in one place, I think (unless you were specifically wanting to blog to get a career out of it, in which case separating them may be useful for you). I say this only out of care for my Google Reader, which I continuously have to scale back from too many feeds!

    I think it’s kind of crazy that people think you can’t self-diagnose. You know your body better than any doctor, and I’ve thrown up a meal within an hour or so of eating it and just known what it was that did it. I also have never heard of “stomach flu season” though – we don’t seem to get that over here. Ignore all the blurb and follow your own intuition and integrity!

  10. Bonnie June 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    I’m kind of with Red. I love all of your posts–personal-finance-related or not–and will keep reading any sort of a combined blog that you do. (Not a big fan of multiple blogs by the same person, I have to say. I’d rather have it all in one place.) I hope some PF stuff is still included, though, because you’re really good at writing about it! 🙂

    Finally, commenters *are* mean. Do you ever read Krystal’s blog comments? I really can’t believe how rude people are. I guarantee you that if any of them got sick after eating greasy McDonald’s, they’d be cursing the golden arches just as loudly.

  11. wyojeff June 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Trying to do more than one topic is definitely do-able, but you need to think about making sure you’re not favoring 1 over the other. I try to write about 3 (the environment, finances and personal health) and I find that sometimes I’d just rather not write about some things. Good luck migrating to self hosting as well. I’m doing the same thing (I bought thesis theme yesterday) and am working on picking a host. Let me know who you go with. it’s not something many talk about.

  12. Jane June 15, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    I don’t have any suggestions for blog names but a combo of all would be great! I love reading your posts and your take on all those areas would, I’m sure, be a great read.

    Ignore the rude internet people! I can’t get over how people think that just because it is online, they have a right to be so rude.

  13. eemusings June 15, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I’ve always preferred blogs that lean more toward the ‘personal’. I’ll keep reading!

  14. TeacHer June 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I’ve been thinking about expanding my blog recently, too. I really want to expand into fashion/lifestyle, but I’ve been so strictly PF I’m not sure how to do it. I also tried the multiple blogs thing and it really didn’t work for me either – we need to put our heads together and figure something out!

    BTW – I know you’re being fair and balanced, but I’m not. I KNOW McDonald’s made you sick! As a food poisoning expert (I’ve had it so many times I can’t count – Dr. told me it was one of the powerful acid reflux meds I was on in college) you can totally get sick within just a few hours of being exposed to a food-borne bacteria. Consumerist be darned, we ALL know who the culprit was.

  15. Home Exercise Equipment June 15, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Very interesting and informative post. I enjoyed reading it and look forward to more in the future.

  16. 1milchallenge June 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I think a combination blog would be great. I only came across your blog last week. Having a few blogs gets hard and an all in one is much easier.

    As for the food poisoning, my SIL went to a business meeting at a restaraunt, within 1/2 hour of eating became violently ill and had to get my brother to pic her up. It was so bad. She notified the restaurant and they said it was impossible, it was too early.

    Anyway, within 2 hours EVERYONE at that business meeting was violently ill and as it turns out they all had food poisoning from that restaurant, confirmed by DR’s, so yeah, it CAN happen instantly. Not always, but it DOES happen so all those rude ppl can go jump.

    I am so horrified at what some of them wrote, I nearly cried for you, and I don’t even know you! lol. They were truly spiteful and it was unneccessary.

    Anyway, I have enjoyed checkign out your blog and look forward to seeing what you decide to do. Good luck. 🙂

  17. Tightwad June 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    McDonalds……….. my opinion, just too much chemicals, corn syrups, glucose and crap. Not food poisoning per se, but a case of shitty ‘food’. Good luck with your wedding planning – so exciting! And blogs… you can combine your interests, no?

Leave a Reply

