Back-Up Plan: If Today Is An Epic Fail

26 May

In about 3 hours, I’ll be heading across state lines to take the test.  I know, I know.  How could I possible have anymore to say concerning this dreaded test?  Well, I do.

There’s a strong possibility that I could fail this test today.  This test is a beast.  The three tests prior to this test aren’t even on the same level as this test.

So, I’ve got a back-up plan.

I’ll take the test today.  I’ll put my blood, sweat, and tears into the questions for four straight hours.  (Only breaking to inhale a Clif bar and maybe have a mild panic attack.)

After that, I’ll return to my normal life that I enjoyed pre-CPA exam which consisted of:

  • working out 6 days/week (oh, how I miss this schedule)
  • eating/cooking healthy meals most nights
  • living in an organized/clean apartment
  • having a social life
  • generally enjoying the good life

However, I’ll still keep my CPA books close at hand.  I’ll brush up on materials once a week or so until I get my score in late June (June 22-June 28ish).

IF I receive a failing score in late June, I’ll pick up where I left off and study for 2 weeks.  I’ll still be fresh, so at that point, I’ll just be nailing all the information down, organizing it in my brain, and clearing the dust away.  This is how I should feel today, but that’s neither here nor there.

So, if I fail, I’ll pay the $300 to re-take the damn test for the second time, at which point I will pass.  This is not a question of IF I can pass this silly test, it’s merely a question of WHEN I’ll be prepared enough to pass.  If that time is not today, then it will be in the first couple days of July.  No biggie.

Of course, best cased scenario would be that I just pass the dang test today and be done with it.  But the back-up plan isn’t so bad either.

9 Responses to “Back-Up Plan: If Today Is An Epic Fail”

  1. Qualler May 26, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    It’s true that FAR is a beast to study for, but I don’t see the testing experience as any more difficult than any of the other three. And considering you passed the other three, there’s no doubt that you’ll nail this one too!

    Best of luck!

  2. Forest May 26, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Here’s hoping you all the best. I have a feeling you’re going to pass!

  3. MPP May 26, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    You got this girl! Good luck!!!

  4. Tanu May 26, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Best of Luck!!! You will do good!!!

  5. me in millions May 26, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Good luck! We’re all rooting for you!

  6. Ann May 26, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    You will rock this test! 🙂

  7. notsopettycash May 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Good luck with the test! Think positive, and I’m sure that everything will be fine. But if it’s not (and it will! It will!) you have a great back up plan. My back up plan was usually just random prayers and panic attacks – it usually all worked out for the best, but your plan sounds so much better, and much more reassuring should the s*%t hit the fan.

  8. Jessica May 27, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Best of luck!!

  9. AussieSaver May 28, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    Just read through your archives, love the blog. Added you to my reader. Good luck on the test!

Leave a Reply

