The Key To Fruitful Study Sessions…

17 May

….is to change the scenery.

I just re-positioned the recliner in my bedroom (yeah, there’s a recliner in my bedroom) to have it awkwardly facing my open window.  My feet are propped up on the sill, the breeze is cooling my cheeks, and I’m hammering out government accounting rules like they’re the most interesting thing since, well, the most interesting man in the world.

Other changes of scenery I’ve been trying out lately:

  • sitting on floor between coffee table/couch
  • sitting on couch pillow on floor between coffee table/couch
  • laying on stomach on floor in living room
  • laying on stomach on bed facing the aforementioned window (and being momentarily distracted by the little girl on the balcony directly across from me pointing to a puppy walking by and repeatedly shouting “poopy! poopy!”)
  • library study rooms
  • sitting on table in library study rooms (totally works)
  • glaring at noisy kids from library study rooms through the little glass window in the door
  • deck chairs (until nasty pigeons took over and left “poopy” everywhere)
  • in my car driving to work….whoopsies.  (only at red lights, promise)
  • conference rooms at work are excellent for hi-jacking over lunch and on breaks and after work

Is anyone still awake out theretheretherethere?

(Funny how my writing is flowing like an oil spill after giving up twitter and really focusing on my studies.  Perhaps studying hardcore really gets those creative juices flowing?)

4 Responses to “The Key To Fruitful Study Sessions…”

  1. paranoidasteroid May 18, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    I used to always go to different libraries & building when I was in college. Something about the novelty helped me focus.

  2. Jeff @ sustainablelifeblog May 18, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I definately used the trick paranoidasteroid used. It was also nice to find the absolute most secluded spot on campus and go study there. There was too much going on in a coffee shop or whatever for me to get anything done, and if my friends found me, i’d never get anything done either.
    Good luck on your last test. Many of my friends have taken (and passed) the tests. You’ll be happy when its over.

  3. pike2010 May 21, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    I like your new template! Nice change! I’ve been reading your blog and it almost insipred me to put my foot down, tell myself “I can do it” and start studying for CPA tests. But it is soooo hard to come after work and force myself to sit down and study. Kudos to you!

    • Carrie May 22, 2010 at 10:01 am #

      Thanks! And yes, that’s the hardest part – coming home after a long day of working only to work more. It’s tough!

Leave a Reply

