The Hardest Part Is Getting Your Shoes On

16 May

I once heard someone say that the hardest part of staying fit is just getting your shoes on.

Once you get your shoes on, there’s no doubt that you’ll get your work-out on and your day, week, month, and year will be infinitely better because of that one move.

How true is that?  And don’t you think this is applicable to all areas of our life?

Oftentimes, I dread sitting down to study.  I’ll walk by my work station set up haphazardly on the dining room table and think of a million other things I could do to put off studying.  But, once I sit down, I’m in a study zone and I usually make a lot of progress.  The hardest part is just opening up my study materials.

Same goes for paying off debt.  Once you sit down and write up a budget, you’re well on your way.

For years, I was a casual, uncaring churchgoer.  Only going to church when I felt like it, not really committing myself to my parish.  But, last fall, I made an effort to join an adult education class that changed my life.  The teacher of the class happened to be speaking at the Mass that Lloyd and I were attending one Saturday evening.  His presence struck me so much that I signed up for his weekly classes that night.  Lloyd and I have been attending his weekly classes since last September.  We have made some amazing, lifelong friends.  Our teacher has not only become one our good friends, but I can honestly say that he has changed my life forever.  He is an amazing person and I feel so blessed to just share in some of his time every week.  If I had not just laced up my shoes and signed up for his class that night last fall, I would never have had the life-changing experiences that I’ve had since I’ve met him.

Think about what that phrase means for your life.  Whether it’s sitting down to study, signing up for a class, starting a work-out program, or even just being a better person for your friends and family – just do it.  Just lace up your shoes; after all, that’s the hardest part.

5 Responses to “The Hardest Part Is Getting Your Shoes On”

  1. eemusings May 16, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    That’s totally how I feel about exercise. And just getting out there and doing it is half the battle! Same with phone calls – I hate the phone and dread ringing people. I’ll put it off as long as I can, but eventually you just need to bite the bullet and get on with it.

  2. Eden May 17, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    True, true. It is. But once you’ve got those shoes laced up it makes one hell of a difference. I like this post, glad you have a good story to tell from it. Gives a little extra inspiration to us readers 🙂

  3. Bonnie May 17, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Great post, Carrie! We’ve missed your blog posts recently.

    • Carrie May 17, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      And I’ve missed writing them!! Can’t wait to be back soon!! 🙂

  4. Bexi May 17, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    De-lurking to say that I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that the hardest part is always the first step (whether that’s putting the shoes on, walking out the door or sitting down). I always know that once I’ve made the first step, things will be fine, but that first step is so hard sometimes!

Leave a Reply

