It’s Almost Go Time

3 Mar

Well, kids, on Friday night at this time, I will have my third CPA Exam under my belt.  Whether or not I pass that exam…well, we won’t know that until mid-to-late March when the scores are released.

Studying for this exam has been killer for me.  For the other two exams, I studied for 2-3 months before going to battle with confidence.  However, as you can see, I haven’t taken an exam in over 6 months.

What happened?  Well, for one thing, I got distracted.  On top of that, life happened.  Weddings and birthdays and Thanksgiving and Christmas got in the way.  By the time January got here, I had studied maybe 1 or 2 chapters in my CPA book.  I had vowed to myself that I would have all the tests passed by May so I could enjoy my favorite season of them all – summer.

But now, May is two months away and I still have to pass two tests.

There’s good news though.  I’m in massive, hardcore study mode these days.  I’ve literally given up everything I love over the past few months – including the gym, family/friends, and blogging, it’s depressing – and studied every free moment.

I am sure you readers are so sick of me going on and on about the exam.  Trust me, I am sick of it, too! :)  I had no idea what I was getting into when I signed up for this exam.  When I’m not doing calculations in my head, I daydream about all the future plans I have for the blog!  I am super excited as to where this blog is headed after I pass the CPA Exam. I plan to make blogging my new full-time hobby after the tests. So, watch out. 🙂

I just took my practice exam and I scored a cumulative percentage of 82%.  I scored only 73% on the practice exam for my last exam and I still passed.  Even with a fairly good practice score, I still don’t feel confident.  What the heck!

Anyways, bear with me readers, I’m almost done.  Can you believe it?!  If I pass this test, I will be 3/4 of the way done with the CPA Exam!  Fingers crossed…

Send me good vibes on Friday afternoon!  I really need them!

Have a fabulous week!

P.S. I would heart you all if you happened over to the Plutus Awards and voted for me in the Best-Kept Secret Personal Finance Blog.  I can’t believe I was even nominated – I feel so lucky!

12 Responses to “It’s Almost Go Time”

  1. Random Thoughts of a Jersey Mom March 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    We all get distracted sometimes.
    It isn’t easy but keep going.

    Waiting to hear your good news!

  2. SP March 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Hey — your blog feed shows up as “untitled” in my reader. I think it has to do with you not wanting the title to cover your custom header so maybe you changed your name to be blank? Well that’s what I did and I had the same issue.

    You should just be able to click “hide text” under “appearance –> Header”

    Sorry for nit picking — what I really meant to say was… GOOD LUCK!

    • Carrie March 4, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      Really?? Okay, I will check that out. Thanks for pointing it out, I would have never known!!

  3. me in millions March 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Good luck! You’re almost there. And we can’t wait to have you back 🙂

  4. Tracy March 4, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Good luck, you will do great!

  5. Tracy March 4, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Oh, and I voted for you! 🙂

  6. Investing Newbie March 4, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Good luck! I know how you feel about the studying and being distracted. I’m currently in the same situation for the GMAT. I’m sure you’ll do well. And as my mom advises: eat some chocolate or a banana before the exam. It’s good for jogging memory. I don’t know if that’s true, but I still do it before every test! LOL.

    • Carrie March 4, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      Hah! Thanks for the advice! I think I will do both!! 🙂

  7. Jessica March 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Best of luck! I’ve got a test on Saturday to enter into college!

  8. Bonnie March 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Good luck!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxed, Rejuvenated, Recharged « Carrie…On The Cheap - July 28, 2010

    […] case you hadn’t noticed by my numerous complaints and rants on the blog, the CPA took a lot out of me.  More than I ever expected.  In college – […]

  2. Blonde & Balanced — Relaxed, Rejuvenated, Recharged - August 16, 2010

    […] case you hadn’t noticed by my numerous complaints and rants on the blog, the CPA took a lot out of me.  More than I ever expected.  In college – […]

Leave a Reply

