Making Retirement Decisions Over Pizza & Beer

20 Dec

 

Tonight, Lloyd and I enjoyed a low-key date of pizza and beer (with a coupon, of course – who do you think I am?).  Pizza and beer is one of my favorite dates – I’m a low-maintenance kinda gal and there’s something so refreshing about an ice cold brew and a steaming slice of pie on a Saturday night.  It really gets you to thinking about…retirement?

Over slices of pepperoni, Lloyd and I got on the subject of our retirement accounts and saving for the future.  Truth be told, we’ve been talking about this subject quite a lot lately.  I’ve been toying with the idea of…not maxing out my retirement account next year. *shocked gasps from readers*

Yes, that’s right, I might stray from the biggest personal finance rule of them all:  Thou shall max out thy retirement accounts each and every year.

The fact of the matter is that we have a lot to save for right now.  We want to pay off a good chunk of our future house before we have kids, we want to build our home gym, we want to buy a dog when we have a house, we want to get married.  On top of that, while my car is close to brand-new, Lloyd’s car is almost 10 years old and we’d be naive to think it won’t need maintenance or even need to be traded in in the near future.

What’s more important:  not getting into debt again or maxing out my retirement account?

The obvious answer is avoiding going back in debt.  I made a one-time stop in Debtsville and I don’t intend to ever go back.  I don’t mind working for even 5 more years if it means that I never have to be in debt ever again.

I’m happy I maxed out my 401k this year.  If I was going to do it any year, this was the year to do it.  I now have a huge amount of shares under my belt that I bought for a really cheap price.  Who knows when the market will provide that opportunity again?

So, next year, I won’t be maxing out my retirement accounts.  Instead of saving almost 24% for retirement, I’ll be backing my contributions down to the Dave Ramsey recommended percentage of 15%.  Next year, I will contribute $5,000 to a Roth IRA and $5-6,000 to my 401k (plus about $3,000 in matching from my employer).

Our ultimate goal is to reach max-out again and stay there, but for now, we’re content with contributing just 15%.

I’m happy with my decision.  My taxable income will go up and I’ll pay a couple thousand dollars more in federal taxes, but I think it’s worth it in the end.

We had some great personal finance discussion flowing over our dinner tonight.  It makes me think: is it possible that the best financial decisions are made over pizza and beer?

(photo source)

5 Responses to “Making Retirement Decisions Over Pizza & Beer”

  1. MPP December 21, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    That’s what I’m deciding to do also. There’s too many things to save for in the next 5 years for me to worry about my 65 year old self. Of course I’ll continue to do that… but you get the idea. 🙂

  2. Investing Newbie December 21, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    I love the pizza and beer date as well. But my fave is the steak and beer date. Yes, BF isn’t fully aware he is dating a she-man. LOL.

    I think you are totally on the right track with choosing to save over maxing out your Roth/401K. My financial advisor has even supported me in that decision since I’m in a similar situation. Right now, your most important goal is to have cash on hand for a major purchase within the next 3-5 years. Putting that money in a retirement account won’t help you with that. So go ahead. I won’t gasp!

  3. Frugal Dreamer December 21, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Haha. I know what we’re having for dinner!

    I think you’ve made a very wise decision! So good for you guys! 🙂

  4. Savings December 21, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    I think you’re way ahead of most people your age, so taking it easy for a few will hardly matter in the end 🙂

  5. Krystal December 22, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    I also made the decision not to max out my retirement for next year. While it would be nice, there are so many other things that we want to save for – like buying our own place and getting married. So I think I’m only saving 17% of my net income towards retirement.

Leave a Reply

