My Finances Weren’t Always This Good: The Finale

19 Oct

This is the fourth of a “My Debt History” series this week.  If you missed Part 1, Part 2 or Part 3, check them out here, here, and here!

When I left off last, I had $13,000 left in car loan debt and $3,500 in credit card debt (accrued due to the post-college-young-single-lady-lifestyle, a new boyfriend, and newfound independence).

Like I said, I went on for about a year with all that credit card debt.  Gradually, I started to despise living paycheck to paycheck.  I was a professional accountant!  I should have a handle on my finances!

I was desperate to pay off my debt and couldn’t seem to wrap my head around self-control at that point.  I had heard of something called a 401K loan and picked some of my co-worker’s brains about it.

I didn’t know much about this type of loan, but I did know my job was very stable and I didn’t have any fear of being laid off (which I now know is the biggest risk you take when you take out a 401K loan).

I debated for a couple weeks and then pulled the trigger.  I took out the exact amount of money from my 401K that I was in debt on credit cards – $3,500.  There was a $50.00 service charge and I would pay about $200 in interest over the one year of the loan.  Since $150 was deducted automatically from my bi-weekly paychecks, I couldn’t get out of paying $300 back to my 401K every month.

The timing actually worked out perfectly because I ended up getting a pretty sizeable raise around the same time – from about $45,000 to $57,000.

I know that all financial gurus practically forbid you from taking out a 401K loan, but in this case it worked for me.  I took out a fairly small amount and my job was extremely stable.  (Note: I am NOT recommending anyone do this without talking to your personal financial advisor.)

During the year that I was paying back my 401K loan, I did NOT use my credit cards under any circumstances.  Ironic as it was, I was teaching myself how to use credit cards properly, while paying them off with a loan.

I took out the loan in May 2007 and my final payment back to my 401K was in May 2008.  As luck would have it, I received another hefty raise right around the same time.  It felt like such a blessing since it was just the extra bump I needed to get my last debt paid off: my car.

In May 2008, my car loan had come down to about $10,000.  I enjoyed the summer of 2008 and didn’t think too much about paying off my car.

However, something hit me in late August 2008.  I just got angry again.  I absolutely hated the fact that I had to make a car payment every month.  As much as I love Toyota, I hated logging onto their website every month.  I got serious.  I meant business this time.

I stopped buying ANYTHING.  By anything, I mean anything at all that I didn’t need to survive.

I spent $40 on groceries per week, I didn’t go out to eat with Lloyd, I stopped buying drinks at bars, I forbade myself from buying ANY clothes, I learned how to make coffee at home.  I only spent money on necessary food and utilities.  All my extra money went straight to my car loan.

It was around this time that I started my very first budget.  Something I’m sure you all have heard of, right? 😉 The budget kept me on track and gave me a mental amount that I could follow on a daily basis.

I made a goal to debt-free in December 2008.  I paid anywhere around $1,500 per month towards my loan – many times more than that.

It was hard – very hard.  I wore the same clothes over and over to work even though I wanted to go out and buy the latest fashion trends that fall.  I ate peanut butter sandwiches quite a lot of work (which…actually wasn’t too hard because those things are amazingly delicious).  If I wanted to have a drink, I’d drink whatever was in my fridge and meet my friends out later and just have water.  Lloyd and I really got into cooking dinners at home around this time.  It becomes very easy to stop spending money on anything when you combine a female’s wrath (toward debt) and a crazy ridiculous goal.  I tell you what, that combination gets things done! 😉

In December 2008, I made my final payment on my car loan and never looked back. 

It took about 6 months to pay off about $9,000 in debt with these things:

HOW I PAID OFF MY DEBT:

  • 401K loan (not recommended)
  • Substantial raises (read: work hard)
  • Lots of self-control
  • Highly restrictive spending
  • Staying busy
  • Making a Budget

As funny as it seems, I am so grateful for my debt history.  There is no doubt that it changed my way of thinking about finances forever.  I am now in more control of my finances than I ever thought anyone could be.  I was one of those people that thought it was normal to always carry high credit card balances.  I thought it was a way of life.  It’s NOT.  Now, I never have to be in debt ever again.

It’s coming up on one year since I paid off my debt, and I have no intentions of ever going back.  It helps to have someone in my life that shares the same values of debt-free like Lloyd.

I was never frugal or mooched off anyone.  I merely tighten the grips on my wallet and learned to tell myself “No!”.  I think this is the best way to pay off debt.  It worked for me and I know all you readers suffering with debt right now will become debt-free someday, too.  Realizing that being debt-free is the way to live is already half the battle!

Thank you so much for following along this journey with me!  I hope this series makes me a little more relatible to my readers.  Now you know – I was once there, too!

8 Responses to “My Finances Weren’t Always This Good: The Finale”

  1. SS4BC October 19, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Wow. What a great finale. Congrats on all your hard work Carrie!!! =D

  2. BDO October 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    I hope this series will also help others to learn some great lessons, so it will “change [others] way of thinking about finances forever”. Keep up the good work!!

    • Carrie October 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

      My first time being quoted! Ha ha, I have the same hope. 🙂

  3. me in millions October 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    PBandJ sandwiches ARE delicious. I completely agree! Great story. Thanks for sharing.

    • Carrie October 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

      I know! I love PB&J! I will never grow out of it. PB Toast is also one of my favs that I can’t seem to grow out of. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Carnival of Money Stories: Halloween Candy Edition | PT Money - October 26, 2009

    […] Bradshaw presents My Finances Weren?t Always This Good: The Finale posted at Carrie…On The Cheap, saying, “This week on my blog, I did a “My Debt […]

  2. Getting Intense: $700 to debt? « my pretty pennies - October 29, 2009

    […] many inspiring bloggers that have done some incredible things to get out of debt. Carrie recently talked about her experience living the bare minimum to pay her’s off. FB at Fabulously Broke worked her way out of […]

  3. Carnivals for the week of October 26th, 2009 | Out of Debt Again - October 30, 2009

    […] on the Cheap tells us her personal finance story in My Debt History.  This post is part four, the finale, so you might want to start at the beginning. A very good […]

Leave a Reply

