Confession: I’ve Never Owned A Computer

13 Aug

I’m typing this post on a craptastic Dell circa 1990 (probably) courtesy of my generous dad.

Good ‘ole dad provided me a beater computer back in college, too.

See a trend here?

All that matters, I suppose, is that both computers that he’s given to me have always powered up and gotten the job done…albeit very slowly.

There is one other computer in my life…Lloyd’s iMac.  SO dreamy!  Those things are amazing!  I was always a PC until I met Lloyd…he turned me to a Mac!  Of course, Lloyd always reminds me that it’s his and he can use it just whenever he wants – including when I’m using it.  😉

So, I’m starting to get fed up with not really having a computer of my own and the general crappiness of my dad’s hand-me-down computers (sorry, Dad).

I want my own, dammit!

I really want one of these:

Oooooo, Ahhhhh

Oooooo, Ahhhhh

But, I just can’t justify over a grand for a computer right now.  (Some day we’ll be together MacBook.)

So, as a reward for suffering through the death of my social life (AKA The CPA Exam), after I pass, I’m going to buy myself a new laptop.

That’s where you readers come in.  Which brand do you like? What should I look for? Or look out for? I’d like to spend less than $500 – is that possible?

I can’t believe that I might actually become a computer owner at the ripe old age of 26!

18 Responses to “Confession: I’ve Never Owned A Computer”

  1. Krystal August 13, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    Well personally I am a Mac girl (I have a beautiful 24″ iMac!), so I can’t speak to what PC to buy or even how much they are … but I did just buy a cute little LG x120 netbook for about $400. Obviously not as functional as a real laptop, but great for on-the-go and keeping things light.

  2. laura August 13, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    I know some people would hate this idea, but since I, too, am absolutely in love with the idea of getting an apple laptop, and I, too, am not in a position to be handing over a grand for a new computer, I have every intention of getting one….

    ….from ebay! the prices range pretty broadly depending on the condition, but it looks like you can find a refurb or a new older model in the $650-$800 range. I know it may be a little silly to spend as much money on a refurbished or older model mac as you could on a brand new PC, but having bought new PCs instead of macs in the last couple of years, I can tell you that it feels like settling to me. and I hate settling.

    congratulations on your first computer! 🙂

  3. HighClassLowIncome August 13, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    I like you have been totally lusting over a mac book! My boyfriend has a 15″ macbook pro and I think it is quite dreamy! I get so used to using it there that I come home to my PC laptop and try to do the two finger scroll on the mousepad with no luck! 😉

    I’m trying to resist but I may treat myself to one in the next year or so. Are you a student? If so you can use Apple’s student discount. It’s not much but any bit helps right? Also right now thru sometime in September, if you are a student and buy a laptop you get a free ipod touch!

    • Carrie August 14, 2009 at 7:35 am #

      Really????????? I was already planning to get Lloyd a Touch for Xmas!!!!!

      Crap….this changes things all together….I was going to spend $229 on him anyway….and I was going to spend at least $500 on a computer anyway….what does this mean??????? I think I know!!!!!

      Thank you!

  4. David Remley August 13, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    The Mac Mini will help you … it’s inexpensive and brings all of the wonderful world of Mac to you…. get a cheap monitor and away you go. Do not enter the world of PC…. sure it’s cheap but the hackers are waiting.

  5. Forest August 13, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    I’m a PC and I’ve only ever owned HPs, so I probably don’t even know what I’m missing. However, I’ve been completely satisfied with HPs since 2001. My dad has a Dell and it pretty much sucks.

    I got my first laptop last year. I think I paid about $800 for it but I know you can find computers for around $500. Of course, if you really want a mac, you’d probably be better off just saving up for it!

  6. Candy August 13, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    I am a mac girl. My family is PC and I was too until I had to actually work and design on them. Now I own at least two computers at a time.

    So I would tell you to buy the fancy mac. 🙂
    I am an enabler.

  7. diana by design August 14, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    i swear by Dell laptops. I went to a high school where we got laptops and nothing was more durable (i’ve had 4 different brands of laptop) than the dell. HPs need formatting if they’re hibernated too often, gateways are just not very great, compaqs are just too frustrating. Dell’s i’ve found last lots of stress and never really have an issue.

    with laptops that is. their desktops have a lot of problems.

    there are, however, some very very good laptops that get put up on woot.com, no matter what the brand. they’re just severely underpriced, normally coming in at about 400 when they’re worth 1000+. so i’d keep an eye on that.

    my vote would be for a dell. macbooks are way too over priced for the average person, i think.

  8. Jan August 14, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    The Dell Inspiron 15 is priced at $424. I just got my sister one and she loves it. I find that to be the cheapest good computer with a Core 2 Duo processor, 3GB RAM and so on.

  9. Ginger August 14, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    Macs are nice, but would it really suit your needs or just be eye candy? They’re still not compatible with a lot of stuff out there and are very expensive.

    If this is your first computer you should probably go for a PC. Macs are for when you “graduate” LOL. If I had a wad of cash to blow I might get one too, but for now a PC suits my needs.

    As for brands, stay away from Dell. You’re just asking for trouble with those ones. The price tag is alluring but you will regret it, no matter what other folks say. Also, Sony is overpriced for what you get.

    I hear that HP is pretty good, and I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop which is a real trooper. You will probably pay more than $500 though. My Toshiba was $1000 on sale 2.5 years ago but was worth it.

    $500 will get you an ok desktop, but you’ll need to spend more to get a decent laptop. Read lots of reviews before you make your decision!

  10. mengembalikan jati diri bangsa August 14, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    hope you can get it, soon 😀

  11. SP August 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    I have always had PCs, and I just refuse to believe a Mac is worth the huge premium.

    I do not like Dells — between bf and I, I’ve used 4 different laptops. The dells all got pretty heat easily and they had other issues. I’m pretty sure i had to send 2 in for repairs, but luckily they were under warranty.

    My best one is my current one, a Lenovo thinkpad. I love it. Can’t remember the price, but in the $600 range.

    I guess if someone let me pick any computer in the world and I didn’t have to pay for it, I’d get a Mac. Since that isn’t happening…

  12. Bonnie August 17, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    The first computer I ever owned was a first-gen iMac. Loved it. Later, I had a Dell laptop for about 6 years. It worked great for the first four years and then started to have major problems with crashing, viruses, etc. I’m going to get a Mac Book when I can save up enough money for one. I’m currently computer-less at home and it’s driving me crazy! I’ve heard that Macs are, in general, worth the money because they rarely if ever get viruses/worms the way PCs do. Plus they just look amazingly cool. 🙂

  13. Linda"Best Netbook 2009" August 25, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    The Toshiba NB205 is easily the best looking netbook with the textured lid (comes in colors of blue, pink, white and brown), along with the beautiful chiclet keyboard and overall sleek and stylish lines it has.

  14. Lindsay August 26, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    If you’re leaning toward a MacBook, but are just afraid of the price tag, consider getting a refurbished one. It’s the same thing, and you get the same warranty, but it’s a few hundred dollars cheaper. I got mine last year, and I LOVE it. Previously I had a Dell Laptop and a Compaq desktop, and the Mac is by far my favorite.

    • Carrie August 27, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

      Ya know, I actually just got a tip about the refurbs. I’m glad to hear that you like it! I definitley will look into this! Thanks!

  15. Jazz September 5, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I am a pc , but I am looking for a new computer and I think I want a Macbook pro ( only because I hate the white casing of the Macbook – I think the aluminum looks better ) . Carrie , if you are gonna do the macbook+ ipod deal , I suggest you do it like today because the deal ends 9/8/09 .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recovering From My Christmas Sugar Coma… « Carrie…On The Cheap - December 30, 2009

    […] I finally got that computer that I’ve been wanting… […]

Leave a Reply

